Greg Focker, St. Richard’s Prayer, and Jesus Christ

The other day I was in Church and a deacon was speaking to the congregation. He brought up the movie Godspell, which I haven’t seen, and how his favorite song from it is “Day by Day,” which I am familiar with. Thanks, Meet the Parents!

Anyway, the good deacon had recently become aware that the song had been inspired by (let’s say that because it’s nicer than “lifted from”) the last prayer of St. Richard. According to Wiki, the prayer was likely translated into this poetic form sometime later, as the original transcription was made in Latin.

Latin:

Gratias tibi ego, Domine Jesu Christe, de omnibus beneficiis, quae mihi
praestitisti; pro poenis & opprobiis, quae pro me pertulisti; propter quae
plactus ille lamentablis vere tibim competebat. Non est dolor sicut dolor
meus.

English:

Thanks be to Thee, my Lord Jesus Christ
For all the benefits Thou hast given me,
For all the pains and insults Thou hast borne for me.
O most merciful Redeemer, friend and brother,
May I know Thee more clearly,
Love Thee more dearly,
Follow Thee more nearly.

It’s a nice prayer and a skillful translation. As far as religious musicals go, however, I’m more partial to Jesus Christ Superstar.

-Bushi

bushi

4 thoughts on “Greg Focker, St. Richard’s Prayer, and Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

