My geeky, musical, guilty pleasure: Blind Guardian

A lot of heavy news dropping these days. That’s not to say there’s no good. Fr. Barron received the call and will soon be Bishop Barron (auxiliary bishop of L.A.), so that’s positive.

On the lighter side of things, I’m not quite ready to discuss Interstellaria yet; nor is it yet time to talk of mobile roguelikes, cabbages, and kings. I have been meaning to wax prose a little bit about one of my guilty pleasure bands, though.

 

Soon.

Like many a virtuous young man, I’m sure, it wasn’t until high school until that I discovered the magic of heavy metal. Those years, plus a stint of Megadeth and Nevermore and other such filth in college, contributed a sludgy ingredient to my musical taste profile. These days I do like a bit of the heavier stuff now and then – Devin Townsend, AFI,  and Queens of the Stone Age reside this very moment inside a hard storage disc in my telecommunications handset. But for the most part I’ve mellowed out and prefer a smoother concoction of Interpol, the Decemberists (hipster trash, I know, right?), Keane, and the like.

But I’ll be damned if I don’t still get goosebumps from this thrashy story of love and loss from Tolkien’s Silmarillion:

Blind Guardian is a German power metal band that’s been around for decades now. My first album of theirs was a concept album about the Silmarillion – one of Tolkien’s lesser known works that lays out the history and lore of Middle Earth up to the events in the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. And man, I’m a sucker for songs about Middle Earth. They’ve also written songs about the holy grail, the Wheel of Time, and all kinds of other fantasy stories. And like any number of other heavy metal bands, their albums are graced with super sweet cover art.

nightfall
Bam.

What more could a young nerd want from his music?

Blind Guardian is no longer one of my regular listens, but every now and then I do desire a heavy metal rendition of the tale of the battle at the Iron Hill, or the Curse of Feanor. The other day I found myself wondering if Blind Guardian is still pumping this stuff out. It turns out they are, and they’ve come out with a couple albums in the past few years that have not yet penetrated my earholes. My God…

 

-Bushi

bushi

My geeky, musical, guilty pleasure: Blind Guardian

3 thoughts on “My geeky, musical, guilty pleasure: Blind Guardian

Leave a Reply

