And the worlds turn

Just a brief post today. I finished with a Princess of Mars this morning and am rounding the base right on to the Gods of Mars. Man, that is some good scifi. Sweet, nurturing pulp.

3386936-john-dejah-reunited.jpg
Hell yes, John Carter. Hell yes.

RPG Pundit meanwhile continues to befool himself over at his blog, raging against the Appendix N fandom. Such a petty, trivial thing to seek out offense over.

In the gaming sphere, I inch slowly towards Year 2 in Stardew Valley, and gird my loins for the first official season of Heroes of the Storm ranked. My main gaming compadre is convinced that we will rise quickly to the top of the pack like some kind of cream-based pack animals in a soupy pool of ranked warfare. My experience with LoL ranked has me convinced that we probably think we’re better than we really are. After all, there’s no limit to the number of Rank 1 players in the pre-season, as their are no metal flavors to subdivide us.

Until then, I practice with Thrall and Sonya so as to broaden my stable of “viable” picks. One cannot live on Zagara and Uther alone.

-Bushi

bushi

And the worlds turn

4 thoughts on “And the worlds turn

    1. Indeed! I’m currently reading through the draft of your Appendix N book (https://jeffro.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/the-first-draft-of-my-appendix-n-book/) and I find myself constantly nodding in agreement. Right now I’m looking at the piece on JC Wright’s observations on the generation gap and post-Christian fantasy, and it’s so true – until recently I was blissfully unaware of the Appendix N works.

      I spoke to my mom recently about all this; I grew up with my mother and father both being big readers and SFF fans. I showered her a copy of Appendix N, and she had read or at least was familiar with all its writers, and I was a little stunned that she had never introduced me to most of them.

      Hopefully some of these works will come back into the public (or at least fandom’s) eye someday soon.

      Like

  1. Gutboy Barrelhouse's Little Cousin says:

    I’m going to take a heretical position and opine that the inspirational reading list of ‘Moldvay Basic’ is even better than ‘Appendix N’:

    http://aeakett.github.io/firstdraftsandscrapsofpaper/inspirational_source_material-moldvay.htm

    It’s more comprehensive and includes a lot of ‘literary’ fantasy as well as pulp fantasy. There’s a lot of overlap, of course,

    My personal recommendations for ‘Appendix N’ are Leiber’s ‘Swords Against Death’, the second Fafhrd & Gray Mouser book, Jack Vance’s ‘Dying Earth’, Poul Anderson’s ‘The Broken Sword’, and A. Merritt’s ‘Dwellers in the Mirage’. All are glorious pulpy goodness, all are quick reads. You’ll never look at a multibook ‘fantasy doorstop’ series in the same way again.

    Again, I repeat that Pundit’s ravings aren’t so much against ‘Appendix N’, but against JMal, who was a more popular blogger, and a more successful author/designer than he. He’s been unhinged by his envy, and he’s lashing out at a guy who doesn’t seem to be aware of his existence.

    At any rate, to Tartarus with Tarnowski, check out the Moldvay list, it includes a greater variety of fantasy works from a greater timespan. Also, if ‘Star Wars’ was your entry into SFF, check out Leigh Brackett’s works, she was one of the screenwriters from ‘The Empire Strikes Back’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this! I’m afraid my historical knowledge of D&D is a bit lacking. From a cursory Google search, I surmise that Moldvay Basic was one of the early editors?

    “Dying Earth” and Poul Anderson’s stuff are at the top of my list after I finish with the Mars books. My interest in Brackett has been piqued also, from seeing her name tossed around on OSR sites.

    I’m pleased to see the likes of Baum, Carroll, Lewis, Le Guin, and Piers Anthony on the Moldvay list. Many more names that I’ll have to investigate.

    Great comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

