Rudy’s BBQ

I have lived in Texas multiple times.

It wasn’t until the last time I lived there, however, that I encountered Rudy’s BBQ.

728782

We were visiting with my parents, and to celebrate my father’s birthday, he requested Rudy’s BBQ in Boerne, TX.

It was a great meal.  On the way out, I dropped a business card into the jar, because why not?

cimg9437

About a month later, I got a call from Rudy’s saying I had won a free catered lunch. At the time, I was living and working in San Angelo, which was a 3-hour drive from the nearest Rudy’s BBQ.  They weren’t going to cater that far, of course.

However, my duties at that time included bringing US Air Force officers to the Personnel headquarters at Randolph Air Force Base in San Antonio, about 20 miles from the restaurant.  Would they cater there?

3455447309_2e8859c136_b

Yes, they would.

They brought us $250 worth of BBQ and sides, enough for my 12 officers, and the USAF General and his staff we were meeting with.

rudys-bbq-meal

We were all stuffed, with leftovers for the General’s staff to take home.

rudysbbq1w

Rudy’s earned my lifelong appreciation for that.

food_bbqsauce_cmyk

If you are ever in Texas, and there is a Rudy’s within reasonable distance, you must go eat there. You owe it to yourself.

5 thoughts on “Rudy’s BBQ

  1. I’m not quite sure if I’ve ever been there. Barbecue, of course, is pork (and a noun). But Texans do pretty good brisket (and sausage). The best places I went when I was there were in Lockhart and Luling.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

