Matsuri

Drove down into the city today to take the girls to the annual New Years Japanese festival. Was nice to have a respite from the endless political fighting that has consumed the world like a dark god consumes his thralls when they are no longer useful. 

We got there in time to watch the taiko drummers and the dragon who scared my children. My kids are also apparently terrified of mochi, and how it is made. The wooden mochi smashing mallet was met with tears. We did have some good traditional festival food though. I always forget how much I like takoyaki. 
I feel a bit envious of the way the Japanese have preserved their culture after coming here to the US. Would have been nice if some of my ancestors kept a few more of their traditions intact. All I do is buy pierogi every once in a while and pretend I’m Polish. 

I’m going to start trying to contribute to the blog more regularly, and am going to start taking on some of the pulp-reading burden (if you can call it that) from PC, consider this post my attempt at getting back into non fiction posting. 
-Kaiju

24 thoughts on “Matsuri

      1. No it is fine line between keeping your culture and also doing your best to fit in with the greater culture around you. I think the Japanese have done a pretty good job of balancing that.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. That’s one thing I appreciate about many of the immigrant friends I’ve had in the US, and it’s something I and my ex-pat friends did back in Japan — respecting and celebrating the traditions and holidays of the host country while importing some from home. I think that’s one of the great things about the US, that we have so many imported holidays and customs. The key factor is for newcomers to integrate them with that those of their new home. And that’s, I think, what causes a lot of tension and nativist sentiment — when foreigners stay foreign and try only to *live* in a new place while separating themselves from their new home.

    We had a couple sweet Halloween parties back in J-Town, back when it was still just catching on..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a difference between assimilation and acculturation. We need immigrants to assimilate; we don’t need them to acculturate. Mexican-, Czech-, and German-Americans in Texas who have been here for decades have assimilated but not acculturated. The Tsarnaev brothers had acculturated but not assimilated.

    I welcome you into the growing ranks of pulp readers.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I am sad at the loss of your presence on twitter, which I discovered today when I wanted to mention you in a tweet.

    However, your story re: mochi made me smile. I remember, as a child, watching my father take part in a matsuri where he got to pound mochi. He didn’t go TOO fast, but there were some lightning quick guys working in tandem. I have a picture somewhere of my father in mid swing at that matsuri looking like he’s about to squash some poor Japanese guy’s hands that were still in the bowl.

    I’m looking forward to your recommendations and upcoming blog posts.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey Jared thanks for coming by! Twitter was making me unhappy about people, so figured it was time to leave. Hopefully some good conversations will happen here

      Like

  4. This reminds me of my outings with my little ones, who are now grown. If only they could appreciate the things we want them to appreciate when we want them to appreciate them.

    I also miss you on Twitter, but am glad to know you are here and doing good. I switched to a more anonymous account there, and am now @OutYonder0777 there if you ever return to tweeting

    Cheers!

    Mike (formerly @mikethomas0777)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

