Hunters and Horrors

Things are frantic right now – just finished with wedding festivities and the in-laws have returned home. I’m gearing up for some long work days, as we’re moving to a new office and there’s lots of IT work to be done in preparation.

Still, nerd’s gonna nerd.

Kaiju, the Great Troll Lord, has done it again. The dude who once got me into World of Warcraft (“Merry Christmas – here’s a free month of crack”) has dragged me kicking and half-heartedly protesting into Monster Hunter Generations.

 

cmm_3ds_monsterhuntergenerations_astalos_mediaplayer_large

This is my first foray into the series, though when I lived in Japan I saw kids hunting beasts all over the damn place. That land of trains and banker box apartments lends itself to local handheld play. Also there are terrible, giant monstrosities, so naturally kids would want to hunt them.

japenese-giant-hornets

The single player action is solid, though the gathering quests are kind of bland. As you might imagine, multiplayer is where the game really shines. I haven’t joined any public games yet, but I’ve killed a giant armored toad among other things with a buddy. I also joined in killing a dragon. By “joined in” I mean I stood a screen away so as not to get one-shotted. Coordinating attacks, laying traps, chucking bombs of various kinds – it’s all good stuff.

The crafting is ok. I find that there’s a lot of junk armor. I mean, it’s cool that pig-cows can be skinned, but who needs crappy pig-cow armor when the discerning hunter gets access to lizard-raptor parts almost immediately?

Most of the weapons are large and ponderous or else weird. Of course I went with one that’s both. The gunlance, aerial style, baby. So like FF VIII, I guess, but with a giant lance and shield instead of a gunblade? Trust me, I am a cool dude.

What free time I can scrounge has mostly been going to Darkest Dungeon, though.

19darkestdungeon

Ok, now I had seen the glowing reviews in passing. But I wasn’t prepared for how good this one is. I honestly just thought I’d try it for an hour or so and check off a box.

What we’ve got here is a dark, tactical, turn-based, rogue-like dungeon crawler. Artistically, it reminds me of a comic book. I’m not really a big comics guy, so I’ll say a Dark Horse comic. Dark Horse is a brand, right?

Stylistically and tonally, it’s got that weird tales feel. Lovecraftian, for sure. I mean, heroes build up stress, which if unmanaged can progress into various manias and general madness. The manor (the main setting of the game, divided up into various areas) is populated with all kinds of eldritch horrors, beasts, and nasty humans. It’s got as many cultists as you’d expect in an HPL or Clark Ashton Smith tale.

The battles make me think of the third member of the Weird Trinity. It’s tactical, for sure. Positioning and party composition matter big time. But the way it plays out is Howardian. It’s visceral and action-packed. You can feel the swishes and whomps and splatters. The suspense mounts and plays out both in combat (things can go downhill fast; they can also turn around quickly on a few (un)lucky hits) and out of it as you explore the dungeon, hoping you’ve brought enough torches and food.

I’m really enjoying it a lot. So far my most satisfying moment was defeating the Collector – this low-encounter-rate spectral mini-boss who collects the heads of dead heroes and then summons them to kick your ass.

 

180261604

I’ll be at these two games for a while.

-Bushi

bushi

12 thoughts on “Hunters and Horrors

    1. What can I say? I feel like a lazy bum when I stay away for too long. ;)

      Yeeeah, I’m familiar with Darkhorse – had a few Star Wars comics from them as a kid. I was just ineptly flourishing my lack of comic book knowledge.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think it’s available for mobile platforms (right now). PC, Mac, consoles.

      I should clarify, I think – it’s not isometric. It’s tactical in that if you want to do well, you really have to consider each turn. Party composition matters big time. Each class has 8 possible skills and you can only have 4 equipped at a time. So which ones you equip and then which ones you use in any given turn are very important.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. In Monster Hunter you will eventually get to the point where skinning the little creatures you kill is of no value and you can just ignore it. Then the Glavenus will two shot you with his flaming tail and tears will flow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

