Tor bravely fights wrongthink

Scifi writer Jon Del Arroz left a comment pushing back on one of Tor’s latest pieces, in which women writers are once again incorrectly portrayed as victims of the dreaded Patriarchy.

Hat tip to Jeffro for this one.

In case you’d like to read the article, here’s an archived link. I hope you’re in the mood for a good lamentation that every hero in scifi has a penis. Except when the lead is a woman, like in Rogue One. But even then, there are far too many dongs surrounding our strong womyn!

Also, what happened to great women writers like Leigh Brackett, C.L. Moore, Andre Norton, etc? Younger readers today have no idea who they are. The Patriarchy strikes again!

andre-norton-in-chair-with-cat
Stricken down in her prime by the Dick Lords.

Except for the fact that this isn’t a gender-specific problem. Many of us in the Pulp Revolution crowd / Appendix N cult have been pointing and shouting about this generation gap for some time now. What happened to Jack Vance? Do young readers today know who Poul Anderson is? Or Lord Dunsany or William Morris? Or Clark Ashton Smith? How about A. Merritt or E.E. “Doc” Smith or Gordon Dickson?

445655

It’s not that women are oppressed and have been memory-holed. It’s that many of the old greats have been forgotten and buried in a mudslide of new crap. I tried to point this out at Tor, but my comment doesn’t seem to have made it past the moderator. Can’t have people challenging your narrative, eh?

-Bushi

bushi

 

 

8 thoughts on “Tor bravely fights wrongthink

  1. Seriously, tho, everywhere the Left takes root, they hold up “the Old” as something bad to be eradicated. I think eradicating historical fact makes it easier for them to craft a narrative of oppression.
    They want modern readers to be horrified older women writers are ignored, as long as the modern readers don’t go back and actually *read* those older women writers.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I only started reading Norton later in life, and, damn, I’m sorry I missed her. Not all the Witch World books I’ve read have been great (though the short stories are), but they’ve all been good. I suspect if I had read them in my rpg-playing days there are tons of things I’d have cribbed when reffing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to hear! I still have to get to her…and the other ladies I mentioned, and Anne McCaffrey. But I have books of theirs waiting on my shelf. Unread but not forgotten!

      Like

  3. I believe they genuinely think they are fighting the good fight. This will sound ist or phobe no matter how I write it.

    It’s not for men to write stories for women. They can and should do it themselves. When the top three protagonists of female fiction are (in order) Vampires, werewolves, and Billionaires that’s their problem. Not ours. If I want to write about Boudicca storming Rome I will. But if I want to write about a monastic group of warriors battling demons I’ll do that and not count the coochies of the characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

