Guitar Lust: Why Don’t They Make More “Blackout” Models?

  • by Gitabushi

Okay, maybe “blackout” isn’t the right term.  That’s part of the problem: there is no name for the style of guitar I like best. What I’m talking about is a Stratocaster-style guitar, with black hardware, black pickguard, black headstock, and black fretboard, and just about any body color, combine to make what is, in my opinion, the most beautiful guitar imaginable.

Let me pause a moment and discuss taste.  Specifically, my taste. I’m kind of a rebel. I like what I like, and it seems like I always like the things that are a little different. Okay, a lot different.  For instance, I genuinely like the movie “Orcs!” (2011).  I love listening to Chinese pop music; but my wife tells me that even for Chinese pop, I like the songs most other people have never heard of. When I’m not listening to Chinese music, my favorite band is Styx, which garners more than a little derision. I like 80s hair metal, too, which would be embarrassing enough, except that I like Giant and Loudness, two of the least-popular hair metal bands that were just popular enough you might have heard of them.

But I’m not a hipster. I’ve never stopped liking someone or something because they got popular. In fact, I’m usually very eager to share the things I like with other people, in hopes of it catching on.

I would like everyone to watch and like Chuck and Flash Forward. The more people that like Chinese pop music, Chuck, CJ Cherryh, etc., the more people I have to talk with about my passions.

Alas: my tastes are apparently weird.

So getting to guitars, here’s what I like:

This is Brad Gillis’ guitar. Er, a guitar made by Fernandes in the style of Brad Gillis’ guitar.

It is, quite simply, bad ass.

(the opposite being found here)

And yet, it is very difficult to find many guitars that have all those elements. I had to search for quite some time just to find these pictures:

28347_SELECT_SC1_HSS_TORRED_RW_C10490_1_medium29349_SoCal_HSS_FR_SATIN_TORRED_RW_C9914_1_grande30184_Used_USA_Deluxe_Stratocaster_Ash_Ebony_Board_Cobalt_Blue_DZ5073886_1_largefP2280195thjthlthowolverine-strat_0010_11yfawjda4su0xdlr6exh0

And to be honest, there is no telling what the headstock looks like in these photos.  Too often, they go with a plain headstock or a body color, instead of plain black.

If I want to get really picky, I’d insist on a strat style headstock, which leaves this one out:

184a52f3791a1503906d99234ed9ff61

But I think I have to allow it, just because there are so few examples that meet all my criteria.

Too often, the manufacturer changes one thing that just makes the guitar fall short of perfection, like a chrome bridge, or light colored fretboard, or the aforementioned headstock color mistakes:

thrrthfthdth;s-l1000prod_1062_4145_largeFender 1st pickupslg_11-4545-706fen98floydrosestrat-wh-bkguard-hh-rw2electric-guitar-with-red-body-and-reverse

13719114235176A5361-0_1

Close. They just *had* to use a chrome bridge, didn’t they?  Bastards:

depositphotos_5175867-Red-and-black-electric-guitar3894029

images4

Just imagine how gorgeous this red guitar below would look with a black input jack, black bridge, and black tuners!

511165000837000-00-500x500

751_P1010258_1

This is so close to perfection, I could almost cry. Or grab a brush and some black paint:

Charvel-USA-Select-So-Cal-Style-1-HSS-FR-Torred

And Charvel is an interesting case.  The orange guitar above is rare, in that it has a rosewood fingerboard.  Charvel comes the closest to what I want with black hardware and beautifully-painted bodies.  But they insist (or their buyers insist) on maple fretboard and unfinished headstock.  It just ruins it for me.

15120960049ththathggtht

These would all be better if they just had an ebony fingerboard and black headstock.

Interestingly, this one works pretty well for me:

squier-bullet-stratocaster-hss-green-metallic

I guess I’m okay with a gray pickguard.  It still looks better than white, or tortoise, or any other color.  Black would still be better.

This guitar I have is the closest I’ve been able to get so far.  The headstock isn’t black, but at least it isn’t a light maple:

images1

images2

So now you have an idea of what I like in guitars.  Why aren’t there more of them? Or at the very least, why isn’t there a name for this color combination to make it easier for me to search for them on guitar selling websites?

 

4 thoughts on “Guitar Lust: Why Don’t They Make More “Blackout” Models?

Leave a Reply

